Kobayashi Maru revisited

So 10 lessons down the line, and it’s time to evaluate the attempt to engage Year 9 in their own learning.  If you missed the introductory ramble, you’ll find it here.

I’m really pleased with some aspects of the work.   For example, having the pupils work in peer-designated groups has highlighted which pupils are the ones actually causing the noise.  It just seemed like it was all of them until recently!

I also like the progress that some of the quieter or demotivated ones have made by being in a group with an enthusiastic leader, who went out of her way to include everyone.

I’m not so pleased with the fact that actually getting the pupils to listen at any point, either to each other or to me, is still extremely difficult.  Even though they are fed up with the noise themselves, they haven’t figured out the cause and effect thing yet.

Anyway, here are their comments on the half-term, which I received in response to a questionnaire (I was experimenting with Spicynodes!):

Whatever happens, I will still be meeting the same group of pupils last lesson on Tuesdays and Wednesdays until the end of the year, so I need to keep trying to get through to them.  Guess what I’ll be doing at half-term …

2 Comments

  1. I have read your whole kabayashi Maru adventure with great interest. I have a similar yr 8 spanish group and I’m thinking of trying something similar as I think they would enjoy it.
    Just need to find the courage to do it and the time to plan it.
    Anyway, thank you very much for sharing

    • Thanks for the message – it has been something new for us all, and I’m now thinking of how to carry it forward for next half-term. I would certainly give it a go with your group – if they’re really like my group, it couldn’t have got any worst than it was, and it really did help iron out a few issues. Let me know how you get on, and if I can help with anything.

Leave a Reply

